Hey, I get up to ALL sorts of shit but I’d never have/get the 2nd chances that Robert ‘boy’ Downey Jr seems to get…

24 04 2008

“After 20 years of drink, drugs, ‘unthinkably surreal’ debauchery and spells in prison and rehab, Robert Downey Jr seems finally to have conquered his addictions. With Hollywood’s confidence in him restored, he is now carrying the $186 million blockbuster, Iron Man.”

Look, I DIG his acting-man as least he is talented but wtf? Is his family part of the Hollyweird film fraternity? How can someone get away with soo much shit? Am I just really, really naive? I could’ve sworn I was cynical…?

“The road to recovery really began in 2003, when Downey met his wife-to-be, the producer Susan Levin, on the set of Gothica. With her, he said, he could enjoy monogamy for the first time: ‘She was really grounded, a hard worker, and really motivated.’ Most importantly, she wouldn’t marry him unless he gave up drugs. A tattoo on one shoulder reads ‘Susie Q’, in tribute; the other, ‘Indio’, the name of his 14-year-old son. Things began to look up: he carried more films than ever, ‘accepting half as much and working twice as hard’, and in 2005 released the wistful, wordy, jazzy album he had always talked about.

Film by film, he displayed an enriched persona and became less of an insurance liability. By the time Zodiac came out last year, he had proved that he ‘no longer had to deal with the embarrassment of imperfection’. Nevertheless, he noted, when he walked into a hotel, ‘people still don’t know whether to help me make a shiatsu appointment or wrestle me to the ground’.

‘Well, it’s like this,’ he says of his recent achievements, ‘job one is get out of the gutter. Job two is to be able to look at the end of a year of work and not feel like I was overworked and underpaid and I don’t like what I see. It took me 25 years of having the wrong thing overshadow my original intentions when I came out here. My victory has been so hard won. It’s hard to get out of the barrel. It’s slippery around the edges and people are happy to see you fall back in. Now that ain’t my story any more, so I can scoff at somebody else’s demise and be one of those pigs at the Colosseum going, “Kill him!”.'”

Just wait for me to stop gagging in my own sick.

“he had proved that he ‘no longer had to deal with the embarrassment of imperfection'”

Oh? I-M-P-E-R-F-E-C-T-I-O-N eh? ehhh?

Oh buddy hope you’re good enough to make that ‘home run to mainstream credibility’!

Interview via The Telegraph

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

